ArtPrize 2016

The Path Ahead and the Path Behind

ArtPrize 8 is almost over. I had a great experience at the Harris Building this year. I really enjoyed hanging out at my venue talking to ArtPrize goers. I was impressed with how respectful peoplewere about my paintings, there has not been any damage. I was very pleased to watch people enjoy my paintings and talk to them about why I did them. It was a great way to engage with the public. I was also asked to bring in more of my paintings to show and hopefully sell. They will stay at the Harris after ArtPrize as a part of their growing art gallery. I would like to thank the owner, Bob Dykstra, for giving me that opportunity! On Saturday, October 8, the Harris Building will host an end of ArtPrize party with live music starting at 6pm. Select artwork (including mine)will be 25% off.There will also be an ArtReprize event at the Harris the first weekend of November. Check http://www.theharrisbuilding.com forfurther details.
Follow me on facebook at Kris is in ArtPrize
Visit me at fineartamerica.com for prints & other products of my paintings.
 
My artist statement for ArtPrize 2016:

The Path Ahead and the Path Behind
Kristine Vander Velde 2016

Why would I let people touch my paintings? I've wandered around ArtPrize the last several years and I see that viewers have a strong desire to touch the artwork. I've seen you sneaking quick pokes and stroking parts you find interesting. It's a compulsion I understand. The idea was to create a surface with varied textures that would hold up to gentle touching. The materials I used are highly personal and relate to the theme of the paintings. My daughter lived with Rett Syndrome, a neurological disorder that robbed her of the ability to use her muscles purposefully, but not of the ability to think. She had minimal hand function and loved to touch and scratch different textures. She had quite a collection of buckets and tubs of varied textured objects which I used for these paintings. The paths are made from rice, beans and beads. Twine, ribbon and strips from an old towel make up the tree trunks and bush branches, I used a gesso/pouring medium mixture to fill in some of the tree branches. The grass is from a knitted piece of cloth and fake feather duster, the bushes from a bath sponge. The tree leaves I cut up from the inner fluff of a worn out blanket my daughter used to lay on for her breathing treatments or watching TV with her faithful dog. I used mainly glue to adhere the textures to the canvas and used gouache, colored ink and acrylic paint to create the image. These paintings are my smallest entry of the past six years, but have been the most difficult and challenging.

We all go through points of reflection in or lives. These often coincide with life changing events. The past seems to become much clearer through our memories, while the future always remains murky and full of shadows. We can gain wisdom by learning from our past, using that to navigate the future. When my daughter passed away suddenly over three years ago, my life completely changed. I reflect often on my past, while living through the present. My future seems very uncertain. I know I must keep moving forward, day by day. But I'll never forget my life with her and the person I have become because of her. I want to share that with everybody. I created these paintings from things my daughter used to touch and now invite you to satisfy your compulsion to touch a painting:)

Write a comment

Comments: 0